Editor's PicksNews

Ndia MP George Kariuki elected as the chair of Transport and Infrastructure committee of the National Assembly

Departmental Committee on Transport and Infrastructure has unanimously elected Ndia MP, Hon George Macharia Kariuki as its chairperson.

Hon Didmus Baraza, MP Kimilili was also elected unopposed as the Vice Chairperson at the inuagural meetingof the Committee held today.

Hon. Macharia and Hon. Baraza expressed their gratitude to Members for electing them to lead the Committee and assured them of transparent leadership.

The newly elected Chairperson assured MPs of all inclusive leadership adding that he will not be making decisions singlehandedly.

“I want to assure members that we will involve everyone in decision making…I will not be making decisions on my own,” he added.

Among the issues highlighted as priority areas to be considered by the Committee are the challenges facing the National carrier Kenya Airways, streamlining the functioning of Kenya Railways Corporation and the Kenya Ports Authority to better serve the country.

The Committee on Transport and Infrastructure considers matters relating to transport, including non-motorized transport, construction and maintenance of roads, rails,air and marine transport, seaports and national integrated infrastructure policies and programmes and transport safety

The leadership of the Committee urged all Members to support them in ensuring the Committee delivers on its mandate.

The Committee has the following members:

  1. The Hon. GK George Macharia Kariuki, M.P.
  2. The Hon. Mutua Didmus Wekesa Barasa, M.P.
  3. The Hon. Jhanda Zaheer, M.P.
  4. The Hon. Komingoi Kibet Kirui, M.P.
  5. The Hon. Chege John Kiragu, M.P.
  6. The Hon. Kiunjuri Festus Mwangi, M.P.
  7. The Hon. Saney Ibrahim Abdi, M.P.
  8. The Hon. Abdul Rahim Dawood, M.P.
  9. The Hon. Arama, Samuel, M.P.
  10. The Hon. Kiaraho, David Njuguna, M.P.
  11. The Hon. Bady, Bady Twalib, M.P.
  12. The Hon. Abdirahman, Mohamed, M.P.
  13. The Hon. Naicca, Johnson Manya, M.P.
  14. The Hon. Muhanda, Elsie Busihile, M.P.
  15. The Hon. Francis, Kajwang’ Tom Joseph, M.P

Related posts

Big boost for tourism as Kenya Airways launches inaugural Mombasa-Dubai flights

News Today Reporter

Deaf and dumb Samburu boy impresses after carving from wood a near perfect replica of a helicopter


Two students in hospital, several others escape with injuries after a vicious fist fight sparked off by a female student

News Today Reporter

Muungano Micro Finance Bank opens a new branch in Kenol town


Four boda boda riding thugs linked to Keagan Githua murder in Ridgeways Nairobi arrested

News Today Reporter

Government in talks with partners to lay 100,000km fibre optic cable to cover entire country

News Today Reporter